3 Reasons Why CSR Racing is The Perfect App

CSR Racing is awesome. First and foremost, it’s the best looking game I have downloaded and played on either the iPhone or iPad. It is also incredibly slick in terms of user interface and navigation. As far as gameplay goes, the developers have nailed it.

But this game is so much more. I think this game or ‘App’ is the benchmark for all budding app developers out there. CSR Racing incorporates the most perfect ‘in game purchasing’ model I have ever seen. To add to that, it also boasts the best social media integration in any game i’ve seen.

Beating these five gang leaders is going cost a little bit of cash, but will be very enjoyable at the same time.

It’s packing a punch in the app store store too. As I write this, CSR Racing is currently the number 1 top grossing iPad app with an astonishing 30,000 reviews. It also sits at number 2 in free iPad apps only behind Google Chrome. As for the iPhone, similarly impressive performance and is currently the top grossing iPhone app.

So why has this game done so astonishingly well? I can point to three main reasons:

1. The Gameplay and Graphics

Put simply, this game looks great. Playing games on the iPhone or iPad has always bothered me as I’ve never felt the graphics have lived up to expectations. However this game looks like how you’d imagine playing it on a PS3 or Xbox.

It looks like its just been waxed!

The cars are so accurately detailed I feel like I want to touch them. They have spent a lot of time on this, as in order for the game to work financially, players have to desire purchasing a new motor – and boy do I want enough cash to purchase the best on there.

Gameplay is a winner. The interface is easily picked up and each page you land on is beautifully designed. The premise of the race itself is very simple, but that feeling of changing through the gears and hitting the nitro button feels very satisfying indeed.

The developers haven’t skimped on graphics and gameplay and this shows in their download figures, high ratings and that top spot in the too grossing charts.

2. The in-app purchasing

People make apps to make money (or help their other products make money).  I have a friend who is currently developing a new iPhone game where in-app purchases will be the way to generate revenues.  There are now three ways to make money via an iPhone app.  1.  Create a paid app (simple enough).  2.  Create a free or paid app that includes advertising 3. Create a free app which relies on in-app purchasing.

Now if I had 55 gold pieces I could afford more turbo!!

Now my brother himself has developed an app which was in the top app spot for a while and I hear on good authority that advertising in an app isn’t going to make you rich quick.  Charging for an app can bring about huge returns (Angry Birds number one example here).   However the new kid on the block is in-app purchasing.  How does this work?

Well you give people a game for free, but then the game is focused on charging you in order to progress (subtly of course).  This is where CSR Racing excels.  When I play this game, I love the game, but I can’t help but feel everything I am doing is part of a set plan in order for them to make more money from me.  I have already spent about £4 on buying ‘gold’ which helps you pay for car maintenance and puts more petrol in your car, but some in game products can be purchased for up to £69!  (that buys you $1,000,000 in cash by the way which is more than enough for the coolest of rides).

This game is VERY clever.  It’s a process which dangles just enough enjoyment but with the option of getting even more enjoyment if you spend a couple of quid.  People are clearly happy to do so, because the game is such a good one.  If this game was on sale for my PS3, i would buy it in a heartbeat.  So spending a few quid on in app purchases doesn’t feel too bad.

3. The Social Media integration

Again, i cant emphasis enough how clever the developers have been here.  This is the most socially encouraging app I have ever used.  Usually I am cautious logging into games or apps with my Facebook account, but for some reason I really wanted to in this instance.

This games success is based around sharing

Sync with Facebook?  Get yourself $1,000.  Share progress on twitter?  They’ll give you some gold.  Refer this game to some friends?  They’ll bump up your bank balance.  Almost after completing every task you are encouraged to share your progress and I can only assume this is why the game is doing so well virally too.

In essence, it feels this game was made to maximise profits, but what they have also focussed on is making a highly attractive, socially engaging and seamlessly put together game.   I bow down to the developers here on a job well done.  What they have produced has worked.  Good on them!

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a comment